Testimonials

What Others Say About Gene C. Colman

  1. "Dear Mr. Colman and Jenny Kirshen. Including the rest of the team at 'Family Law Centre' "
  2. "If you are husband embarking on a divorce in Ontario, your case will be complex because matrimonial law here is extremely biased in favour of the wife."
  3. "Our encounter with Gene and his superb team was worth every penny. We are truly blessed to have met Gene, and want to thank him for his outstanding contribution in assisting us keep our family whole."
  4. "It was awe inspiring to see you at work, your organization and knowledge for the case was amazing."
  5. "Gene, you have earned our respect, confidence and gratitude. We chose the best, and we are glad that we did".
  6. "I cannot thank you enough for your professionalism and dedication to my cause."
  7. "Gene and his team provided prompt and professional service".
  8. Successful experience representing families against the C.A.S.
  9. He went the extra measure at every turn. He achieved all the goals that had been set.
  10. "You cut through the confusion and I was the biggest beneficiary of that."
  11. "I found the initial meeting (and all thereafter) in your home, after hours, stress-free, and your detailed approach put me at ease. I found you to be very knowledgeable and thorough."
  12. "Mr. Colman's courteous and direct advocacy for me in court helped me not only to gain more access but solved other areas of conflict and, I believe, prevented many future legal conflicts."
  13. "Your tactical advice and creative action plan generated a most positive outcome ... your empathy and courtesy was commendable."
  14. "My case was taken by Mr. Colman in a creative and skilled manner ensuring that the other party was forced to respond, and accept that there was a case to be answered. The strategy designed by Mr. Colman was successful..."
  15. "I found Gene to be very accessible and meticulous in his preparation."
  16. "His unflappable approach to opposing counsel in the face of cantankerous behavior is an example of what I always thought a lawyer should be."
  17. "GCC navigates what I believe is one of the most labyrinthine branch of law ... with the inspiring ease that comes with experience."
  18. "He was able to keep my case grounded by a candid impassionate examination of the opposing side and developing strategy to deal with it."
  19. "His high level of professionalism gave me confidence in his skills."
  20. "Everything from the documentation prepared, to the constant communication, to the consistent expert advice, was outstanding...
  21. His skill and wit in the court room, is truly remarkable, especially seen, in cross examination."
  22. "I was impressed with your knowledge and skills as it pertains to the family courts."

"Dear Mr. Colman and Jenny Kirshen. Including the rest of the team at 'Family Law Centre' ",

I wanted to thank all of you for your efforts & assistance for my case conference.

All of you have been very kind and understanding.

I'm sincerely grateful for all your hard work in a short length of time.

Jenny, I can't thank you enough for your support & kindness at the case conference when I was so stressed & overwhelmed.

Mr. Colman; you were very professional and upfront & direct on your way of dealing with things; you always greeted me with respect, understanding & sincere compassion for (redacted)...& with what I am going through.

Thank you,
Sincerely
NS
September 26 2016
Toronto, Ontario

TOP


"If you are husband embarking on a divorce in Ontario, your case will be complex because matrimonial law here is extremely biased in favour of the wife. If you are expecting to achieve any degree of fairness in the outcome, you will need a lawyer who understands matrimonial law from the husband’s perspective and has the experience of working within this system to achieve a (more-or-less) fair outcome. When my divorce proceedings started, I naively figured the courts would consider factual evidence and come to a fair decision so I was not as careful as I should have been in choosing a law firm. This was a big mistake; after only a few weeks I realised what I was up against so started looking for a law firm that specialised in dealing with divorce from the husband’s perspective. Fortunately, I found the Gene C. Colman Family Law Centre where Mr. Colman and his associates have the knowledge and experience to achieve the best outcome within the Ontario court system."

Throughout the proceedings, Mr. Colman and his associates were professional, courteous, responsive to my needs and fair in their charging practices. Most importantly, they kept the focus on preserving both my wife’s and my relationships with our children. Divorce will be devastating for the children and regardless of the animosity between the parents, parents involved in a divorce have an obligation to minimise this damage to the children. Mr. Colman made sure I did not forget this and quite rightly talked me out of doing some things I wanted to do at the time but would have surely regretted later.

In summary, I would strongly recommend Mr. Gene C. Colman and his associates at the Gene C. Colman Family Law Centre to anybody who needs a divorce lawyer in Ontario.

PD
September 11, 2015
Toronto, Ontario

TOP


KP
July 21, 2015
Toronto, Ontario

TOP


"Our encounter with Gene and his superb team was worth every penny. We are truly blessed to have met Gene, and want to thank him for his outstanding contribution in assisting us keep our family whole."

We were in a crisis, we felt hopeless like were fighting an endless battle. We were threatened to have our special needs son apprehended by the Catholic Children's Aid Society. We made an appointment to meet with Gene Colman to discuss our matter in further detail and seek professional legal advice. After the initial consultation he was able to propose suggestions to handle the matter and gave us clear expectations in terms of results and timelines. He provided us with solid advice, making reference to the Child and Family Services Act. It was evident he had the legal knowledge and skills relevant to the matter. He showed empathy and compassion in understanding our needs. He even provided us with a take away summarizing our interview and suggested strategies on how to proceed. We were so impressed with our overall initial experience that we knew we had come to the right place.

Words cannot express the gratitude we have for Mr. Colman and his team. They all worked effectively together. Their commitment and professionalism was consistent. They always made us feel like we were more than just their clients. We felt personally connected; they made us feel valued and appreciated.

Whenever we had a question whether we sent an email or made a call we were always responded to even outside of normal business hours. This truly showed their commitment to providing an exceptional client experience.

We were kept informed with updates or changes; we always knew where we stood. If Gene had a strategy or wanted to gather information he would take time to meet with us and thoroughly explain his approach. He was always prepared for each meeting. It was evident he fully considered all the strategic options. This was exceptionally impressive.

His approach in tackling the Catholic Children's Aid was phenomenal. The letters which he wrote proactively to the counsel of CCAS basically left them cornered and speechless. With his strategic approach he was successful in getting the CCAS to drop any consideration of an apprehension or Protection Application with this eventually leading to the CCAS closing its file.

In closing, we couldn't have done it without Gene Colman. Certainly, if we did not retain Gene at the time that we did, I am confident that our son would have been apprehended. Gene was our "Saving Grace". We definitely got value for our buck. Our encounter with Gene and his superb team was worth every penny. We are truly blessed to have met Gene, and want to thank him for his outstanding contribution in assisting us keep our family whole.

Overall, Gene exemplifies someone who is extremely passionate in helping families who have been victimized by the abuse of CCAS. As a result of my personal experience I would not hesitate to recommend this firm.

TW
November 12, 2013
Toronto

TOP


"It was awe inspiring to see you at work, your organization and knowledge for the case was amazing."

Mr. Colman and Team,

Words honestly can't describe the respect my family and I have for you and your team. When our 4 week old son was taken, our SUN was literally taken. We lived in such dark grief. At that point we had two legal aid lawyers with no resources, no experience, and no drive. We were accused of such horrible abuse that we really thought we didn't have a chance. CAS constantly reminded us of the fact that we would never have our baby returned to us. Through research we FINALLY found you. We fired our lawyers and like a domino effect suddenly you had their backs against the wall. They went to trial confident in a win, our side didn't even testify. Five days in the very people who told us we abused our son and would never parent him, never have our baby back, withdrew their application for protection and on November 27, 2012 after 15 months we were able to bring our son home. As I write this I can hear the pitter patter of his little feet running around the house. It was awe inspiring to see you at work, your organization and knowledge for the case was amazing. Anytime anyone asks, I ALWAYS recommend your office. God bless you! Thank-you so so so so much!!!

K
Peterborough,
March 4, 2013

TOP


"Gene, you have earned our respect, confidence and gratitude. We chose the best, and we are glad that we did."

Dear Gene,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you on behalf of our family. We were faced with a complex and stressful custody situation involving our nieces and nephew already in our kinship care. The heavy-handed tactics of the Hamilton Catholic Children's Aid Society drove the children to the verge of Crown Wardship. We felt bullied and overwhelmed by the CCAS. It wasn't until we contacted you that we felt that our concerns would be addressed, and your involvement had an immediate impact on all parties.

Each and every time we contacted you by phone or email, you responded promptly. Any questions, big or small, were addressed. You were diligent and thorough, leaving no detail unexamined. You at times worked on our case in the late hours, on the road, and even on vacation!

You graciously traveled to Hamilton to represent us, and it seemed that your reputation preceded you, because we saw the respect with which you were received upon arrival. Even the presiding Justice welcomed you by name to her courtroom, and this confirmed for us that we had the right man for the job. Your experience and wisdom was apparent to all, and you never allowed any of the parties, or their legal representatives, to forget that we were all there to ensure that the best interests of the children be foremost.

Gene, you have earned our respect, confidence and gratitude. We chose the best, and we are glad that we did.

Sincerely,
Dr. JG and Mrs. SG.
Gravenhurst, Ontario
October 31, 2012

TOP


"I cannot thank you enough for your professionalism and dedication to my cause".

Dear Mr. Colman,
I cannot thank you enough for showing me just how much my legal situation means to you and your most learned and honorable firm. I was pleased to read your very detailed letters and further pleased at the wealth of knowledge you impart through them. I am, and have been for some time, an enthusiast of the law and have learned a tremendous amount throughout my dealings with you and your staff. I am both very lucky and very thankful that you are my representative in these legal challenges I am faced with. I cannot thank you enough for your professionalism and dedication to my cause.

MK - Thornhill, Ontario

December 28, 2011

TOP


"Gene and his team provided prompt and professional service".

I am pleased to recommend Gene Colman as a family law lawyer. At a time when my family and I was faced with an extremely stressful and complicated Children's Aid case, Gene and his team provided prompt and professional service.

SM
August 27, 2011

TOP


"Successful experience representing families against the C.A.S."

We found Gene’s name on the internet after many months spent searching for help, advice and protection in our interactions with the local Children’s Aid Society.  As a last resort, we were attempting to find a home with the C.A.S. for our eldest adopted son, who was demonstrating severe behavioural problems and who was a threat to the safety of our other children.  Unfortunately, perhaps due in part to our own emotional state at the time, our interactions with the Society had become very negative and had resulted in a court document that we felt impeached our characters and misrepresented our actions.  We were feeling humiliated, anguished and afraid.  In desperation, we "googled" - "lawyers who have fought the CAS and won".  Gene’s name surfaced as a lawyer of repute and diligence in addressing complex, sensitive family issues realistically and effectively.  He had prior, successful experience representing families against the C.A.S.

From our initial telephone conversation to the end of the legal process, Gene provided the emotional and legal support we needed to survive this most stressful experience of our lives.  He understood our precarious financial position and helped keep costs as low as possible while maintaining high quality counsel. His junior lawyer and law clerk worked with us on the lengthy process of writing a responding affidavit but Gene was always there to review the final products and to provide guidance.  As Gene advised in his first meeting with us – "I will be the only one to speak on your behalf with the C.A.S. and with the court."  Gene’s mediative and courteous approach to C.A.S. legal counsel and staff allowed us to express the full extent of our concerns through him, to the C.A.S., outside of a courtroom setting – in fact, at the conference room in his home-office location.  At this venue, Gene succeeded in encouraging all concerned to listen to what others had to say and to appreciate and indeed respect different points of view.

There were several times when my husband and I were overwhelmed by ongoing C.A.S. interventions and with fear about the outcome of the legal process.  Each time, we emailed Mr. Colman to share our concerns and ask for his advice.  And on each occasion, Gene replied quickly with just the right choice of words to reassure us and made us feel that he "had our backs". ."  He effectively stopped the C.A.S. from contacting us directly, which provided our family with a much needed period of respite to calm ourselves and re-energize.

Gene also understood that part of the issue, for us, was the question of what appeared to us to be unethical behaviour by some C.A.S. workers, their inappropriate use of power and their apparent lack of accountability. Gene advanced a claim in court that the C.A.S. should be ordered to pay our legal costs. Gene argued these issues in a reasoned, logical manner, demonstrating that although such a request was without precedent in Ontario law in the particular circumstances of our case, it was the right and moral thing to do.  Gene’s presentation in the courtroom was rational, refined and educated; this was in direct contrast to the emotionalism and combative approach of the C.A.S. lawyer.  The judge listened carefully to Mr. Colman’s submissions and arguments and she took many notes.  She reserved her decision that she delivered some weeks later.  Although she ruled against Gene’s request,  we felt that the legal fees incurred to prepare and present our case to the court for CAS accountability was money well spent.  The fact that the judge listened so carefully to Mr. Colman’s arguments for agency accountability was exceptionally satisfying to us. And, we can’t help but think that next time the C.A.S. will think twice before so viciously attacking persons in a situation similar to ours.  Gene encouraged everyone – the court, the child’s lawyer, the C.A.S. lawyer and indeed us, to focus only on the child’s needs.  Gene held that bad C.A.S. behaviour detracted from what should be the proper focus on the needs of the child.

We were very pleased with the work of Gene C. Colman and his team.  If you are having issues with the Children’s Aid and you need someone to help you organize your case, present your case, and stand up for you especially when you feel you are at your weakest point, then call Gene Colman.

Thank you, Gene, Efua.

L & B
Newmarket, Ontario
September 20, 2010

TOP


"He went the extra measure at every turn. He achieved all the goals that had been set."

"...he’s an honourable, kind, family man who values the relationships of children and both parents, not just one parent."

"He works long hard hours, was very intelligent, experienced, honest, fair, kind, hard working and most of all extremely competent, and thought of all the details and problems that might arise and handled them all before they became issues. His passion to help others in difficult situations is very evident."

To whom it may concern:

I reside in Western Canada . I discovered Lawyer Gene C. Colman on the internet by reading his excellent articles on Parental Alienation. I wrote him my tale of woe late one evening, frustrated and sad because my granddaughter had just been abducted two days before by her mother to Ontario .

I didn’t expect a reply really, but Mr. Colman wrote back early the next morning, gave me some excellent advice, and he gave me the name and number of another lawyer in my province who works under the same family oriented principles as Mr. Colman.

I called that lawyer that same morning of receiving Mr. Colman’s email. The local lawyer saw us the same day, and within 3 weeks, my son and I had an order granting to us Interim Custody until trial with full police assistance.

Then I got back in touch with Mr. Gene Colman. He researched the facts and the law very carefully and planned a strategy to effectively enforce our Interim Custody order in Ontario . He found us a great investigation company that quietly found the mother and child without tipping them off. With all the information at hand, Mr. Colman expertly crafted affidavits. He took a very professional file to court, carefully prepared to leave not one stone unturned, including helping the judge by noting all the legal references in the court rules and the statutes. He went the extra measure at every turn. He achieved all the goals that had been set.

Once the Ontario order was granted on a Friday afternoon, we quickly booked a flight, coordinated with the investigators who coordinated with the police, and on Sunday morning, with the help of the police, we retrieved our little girl and immediately flew back to our home in B.C.

Who knew that less than 8 weeks after my granddaughter went missing, which time period included the long holidays of Easter and Passover, that she would be legally back in our home, because I wrote a lawyer from a web page late one night?

I judged Mr. Colman’s web site and his personal comments and trusted my instincts that night. I was right; he’s an honourable, kind, family man who values the relationships of children and both parents, not just one parent.

I highly recommend Mr. Gene Colman to anyone to anyone who needs help. He works long hard hours, was very intelligent, experienced, honest, fair, kind, hard working and most of all extremely competent, and thought of all the details and problems that might arise and handled them all before they became issues. His passion to help others in difficult situations is very evident. I also loved his hands on personal approach, but he still used his less expensive law clerk very effectively and where appropriate.

Mr. Colman wrote excellent documents, sifted through my pages and pages of facts and recollections, he anticipated any problems before they arose and worked beyond them, he researched all his case law, and the investigators, and was always prompt daily with emails to keep us apprised of the current status, and he sent to us copies of any and all documents. He also worked closely with our BC lawyer and this was an asset on our return as the local court actions have already been renewed and our lawyers here are completely up to speed with all documents from Ontario .

The court order Gene drafted (that was granted in its entirety by the judge) included, to my very pleasant surprise, a compensation order for all my Ontario costs from the mother of the child.

This was a complicated process and could easily have taken much longer or been unsuccessful and should not be attempted on your own to save money.

Every penny was worthwhile. We have our little girl, and the judge awarded us costs. There were many areas that without experience and attention to detail, we would have failed.

Don’t hesitate to contact Mr. Gene Colman if your child has been abducted to Ontario , or if you are being unfairly treated by the other parent without just cause. He’s fantastic.

This letter is being written without compensation and purely from our grateful hearts.

Sincerely,

A grateful grandmother and father
Langley , B.C. April 28, 2009

TOP


"You cut through the confusion and I was the biggest beneficiary of that."

Dear Gene:

I have been enjoying a much improved lifestyle since you worked your magic and led me through an entangled set of circumstances. Peace of mind is a wonderful thing, Gene. I don't know if I have thanked you enough for restoring mine, or can.

I had engaged 3 other lawyers in the 12 years of conflict prior to my finding you. And at first I mistook your careful approach as slowness. But as the process unfolded and in retrospect, there is not a thing that I would change in the way you analyzed the data, explained the options, recommended the strategies ... and executed! You cut through the confusion and I was the biggest beneficiary of that. But the Applicant, opposing counsel and even the Court were strongly influenced by your patience and clarity. You know your Family Law. You knew where to go, how to get there, and did it.

I wanted fairness and for the insanity to end. You achieved both for me - and all of us, kids included, are better off for that.

Praise is a bit embarrassing for you. Interferes with your humility, I suspect. But you should know how great it was to have your strength, your sense of perspective, your knowledge and skill, and your empathy on my side during that very trying period of my life. I am fan. You may have anyone call me for both a review of your abilities as I experienced them and a considered, unqualified recommendation. Thank you again, Gene.

Kind regards,

Colin
Toronto, Ont.
Nov. 14-07

TOP


"I found the initial meeting (and all thereafter) in your home, after hours, stress-free, and your detailed approach put me at ease. I found you to be very knowledgeable and thorough."

Dear Gene:

I wanted to thank you for your assistance with my legal difficulties. I was attached to a large Bay Street law firm. I found access, and communication with that firm to be very difficult and formal, with most of the interaction occurring between the law clerk. I felt I was not getting fair representation or a satisfactory solution to the problem.

That all changed when I was referred to your website. I found the initial meeting (and all thereafter) in your home, after hours, stress-free, and your detailed approach put me at ease. I found you to be very knowledgeable and thorough. It was obvious you possessed a wealth of knowledge and experience. You stressed that you wanted what was best for the children, while at the same time gaining a fair and equitable solution to the conflict. Any questions or concerns were quickly answered either via emails or in person.

During mediation, you were extremely well prepared and your calm approach went a long way to gaining an amicable solution to my family issues.

I would give you the highest recommendation and have referred at least one colleague to you and would not hesitate to refer others who have significant family legal difficulties.

I owe an extreme depth of gratitude for your professional and courteous manner throughout the course of the process.

Thank you

Dave
Toronto, On
Feb 2008

TOP


"Mr. Colman's courteous and direct advocacy for me in court helped me not only to gain more access but solved other areas of conflict and, I believe, prevented many future legal conflicts."

Until I sought the legal counsel of Mr. Colman, I was unable to gain the amount of access to my child that I wanted, but after retaining Mr. Colman I quickly had the results I needed. Now I see my child more than ever. To achieve these results, Mr. Colman and his assistants thoroughly organized my past files and put together a new binder that made my legal efforts so much less confusing and difficult. A clear summation of the past and a plan for the future were created. The clarity of my case binder and Mr. Colman's assessment of my situation helped me to articulate my own concerns to the judge when called upon in court. Mr. Colman's courteous and direct advocacy for me in court helped me not only to gain more access but solved other areas of conflict and, I believe, prevented many future legal conflicts. Every thing I wished I could have said was effectively expressed by Mr. Colman in court, with positive results for my child and I. Thank you, Mr. Colman, for being on my side.

Chris
Nov. 13-07
Pickering, Ont.

TOP


"Your tactical advice and creative action plan generated a most positive outcome ...

... your empathy and courtesy was commendable."

Dear Gene:

I would like to take this opportunity to personally thank you for the excellent legal service that you have provided me throughout the past 13 months. From initial contact until the conclusion of our case you were consistently available to answer my questions and provide comprehensive counsel.

I was particularly appreciative of your ability to expediently analyze my case and explain related family law concepts succinctly. Your candor and professionalism have enabled me to fully appreciate the rights that my family and I have under the law. The manner with which you dealt with the opposing party and counsel was always considerate and timely. Based upon your correspondence there was no mistaking our position. Your tactical advice and creative action plan generated a most positive outcome.

The past 13 months have been a difficult time for my family – your empathy and courtesy was commendable. You are without doubt the most capable, most effective family law lawyer that we have had occasion to work with. Once again I thank you for the outstanding legal service you have provided us.

Sincerely,

Rob
Nov. 12-07
Brighton, Ont.

TOP


"My case was taken by Mr. Colman in a creative and skilled manner ensuring that the other party was forced to respond, and accept that there was a case to be answered. The strategy designed by Mr. Colman was successful..."

Mr. Gene Colman was my legal counsel between November 2001 and August 2002 in a paternity case.

Prior to engaging Mr. Colman I did several internet searches to identify possible firms in Toronto that could take my case.

I decided to engage Mr. Colman based on the information provided in his website that described his non-standard approach in many cases taken up by him. An additional factor that strongly persuaded me to engage Mr. Colman was the number of papers on family law written by him. I believed that this would ensure both a more knowledgeable and flexible approach.

The facts in my case were more complex than usual. My case was taken by Mr. Colman in a creative and skilled manner ensuring that the other party was forced to respond, and accept that there was a case to be answered. The strategy designed by Mr. Colman was successful as paternity was conclusively established.

Mr. Colman has a great ability to explain complex concepts in terms that are understood by the client. This was invaluable for the expeditious and timely provision of information required from me to more cost effectively progress my case from distance.

I never met Mr. Colman. This was however of no consequence in the case. My interaction with Mr. Colman was through e-mail messages and teleconferences. Mr. Colman managed to establish a mutually respectful, yet friendly, client-counsel professional interaction.

Based on the success with my case, I recommend Mr. Colman for family cases, particularly those more complex cases that require investigative work, to ensure a successful outcome.

H.B.
Nov. 11-07
New South Wales, Australia

TOP


"I found Gene to be very accessible and meticulous in his preparation."

"His unflappable approach to opposing counsel in the face of cantankerous behavior is an example of what I always thought a lawyer should be."

"GCC navigates what I believe is one of the most labyrinthine branch of law ... with the inspiring ease that comes with experience."

"He was able to keep my case grounded by a candid impassionate examination of the opposing side and developing strategy to deal with it."

I am sure everyone going through a divorce experiences one of the most challenging and troubling times of their lives.

The challenge ratchets up dramatically when it is contentious and prolonged but it is made infinitely more challenging when there are young children to be protected and you are at the other end of middle age and your source of livelihood is compromised.

In my case the situation was compounded by unreal level of income attribution and a lawyer who was ill prepared and an opposing counsel with a full bag of tricks. It would be fair to consider the situation irrecoverable.

This was the situation I found myself after a year in court and two years after separation. It was not enough to terminate my then counsel's service I had to find one with reputation and ability to deal with the complexity and still preserve my sense of fairness, integrity and the place of children in my value and culture.

I found Gene C. Colman (GCC) through an intense internet search and have never had to regret the choice.

  • I found Gene to be very accessible and meticulous in his preparation. In my case it included spending prolonged periods organizing and reviewing my financial documents physically in my office. This type of approach creates an unusual knowledge of the case.
  • The fact that his office is located in his home creates an atmosphere that removes the tension of formality. You know you have his full attention.
  • His unflappable approach to opposing counsel in the face of cantankerous behavior is an example of what I always thought a lawyer should be. This helped me to preserve some trust in the system even when I had reason to despair of fairness.
  • GCC navigates what I believe is one of the most labyrinthine branch of law (that in my opinion allows uncommon latitude for poor practice), with the inspiring ease that comes with experience. It was most reassuring to experience his search for ideas and opinion from associates when he believed it could help.
  • He was able to keep my case grounded by a candid impassionate examination of the opposing side and developing strategy to deal with it. It is very easy not to understand how a stranger to ones affairs can be unable to see what ones considers straightforward.

I highly recommend Gene without reservation.

Dr. O.
Nov. 8-07
Cobourg, Ont.

TOP


"His high level of professionalism gave me confidence in his skills."

Gene C. Colman won my Court of Appeal for Ontario case ( Farrar v. Farrar) with his expertise in complex cases and effective courtroom arguments. Although I had re-settled to another province, Mr. Colman quickly took on my case explaining the issues clearly to me, by telephone and e-mails.

His high level of professionalism gave me confidence in his skills. As he won my case, I did not have to pay for either level of court costs.

(He also set a precedent for future cases.)

Bernice Lever
Nov. 25-07
Bowen Island, BC
colourofwords.com

TOP


"Everything from the documentation prepared, to the constant communication, to the consistent expert advice, was outstanding ... His skill and wit in the court room, is truly remarkable, especially seen, in cross examination."

To Whom It May Concern,

After four years of battling my former husband, in and out of court, I considered changing lawyers. Gene Colman was recommended to me by someone who was impressed by him, after attending one of his seminars.

I spoke with Gene, and had an appointment within a few days. Right from the start, I was impressed with Gene's professional manner, legal advice, and his honesty in regards to my case.

By the time the case was heard, I was completely in awe of Gene Colman. Everything from the documentation prepared, to the constant communication, to the consistent expert advice, was outstanding. But the true brilliance of Gene Colman, can only fully be seen, in litigation. His skill and wit in the court room, is truly remarkable, especially seen, in cross examination.

I would highly recommend Gene Colman to any person who needs true and honest legal guidance, and I am a more confident person going forward, knowing that Gene Colman is sitting on my side of the table.

Yours Truly,

Ann
Nov. 23-07
Erin, Ontario

TOP


"I was impressed with your knowledge and skills as it pertains to the family courts."

Dear Gene:

I want to thank you for your assistance with my family matters. Prior to coming to you for your assistance I was with another lawyer, however it became clear to me that my first lawyer was not the right person for my case.

After meeting with you and Jonathan I found that you were very straight forward and honest with your opinions. These are important qualities in your field, considering the misinformation that people have in family matters.

Throughout my matter you kept me informed of my rights and what the courts are ruling in different situations. You were always accessible during the preparation of my case and prior to court appearances. Your professionalism goes beyond the norm. Working in the field of law I see a lot of lawyers not prepared for their matters, however not so in your case.

I was impressed with your knowledge and skills as it pertains to the family courts. You take on your cases with a methodical approach. This is a valuable quality considering the overwhelming amount of information that is involved in a family matter. Even when my matter was concluded you were still available for advice.

Gene, again thank you for your assistance in my matter.

Rob
Feb. 12, 2008
Hamilton, Ont.

TOP


"you were precise and accurate and focused in advocating my position. I commend you for your efforts and for exceeding my expectations."

Dear Gene:

I can’t express enough the appreciation for your hard work and dedication you put forth on my file. The outcome is only a bonus and my rejoice is natural. Despite the positive outcome and the uncertainty in the justice system, one can only hope the results are in one’s own favour.

My position has always been and I will always maintain that I believe in being accountable for one’s own actions and your victory today represented to me just that. My circumstance was solely based on being put in it and not having created it. Your representation has demonstrated loyalty, integrity and professionalism.

In spite of the criticisms and accusations of the opposition you stood strong and outlined the facts, you were precise and accurate and focused in advocating my position. I commend you for your efforts and for exceeding my expectations. Congratulations also to you!

Gratefully,

P.C.
Dec. 3, 2010
Mississauga, Ontario

TOP


"Your ability to execute concisely and chronologically and be focused on certain issues in your presentations has proven to be effective."

Dear Mr. Gene Colman,

It has been a long hard legal journey both my husband and I have been involved in. Both our cases have been long, difficult and highly complex. After seeking the right lawyer that would fit my husband’s case you have proven that you pay attention to detail and really listen to your client’ s needs to achieve the greatest possible results.

Throughout our engagement with you, you have also shown a great compassion for law, and empathy for your clients who have been exposed to such legal complexities. Your ability to execute concisely and chronologically and be focused on certain issues in your presentations has proven to be effective.

I heartfully thank you for having helped in my husband’s case and opening a door to which we can move on with our lives. From here, we would have no hesitation at all recommending you to anyone we encounter that may need a lawyer in any family law case. You certainly were the right fit for my husband’s case.

Again, a very heartfelt thank you.

Sincerely,

L.R.
Dec. 3, 2010
Mississauga, Ontario

TOP